If you are someone who wants to start a construction or construction business in Michigan, you should get a Michigan building permit. It is a tedious process to obtain a Michigan building permit. You must follow some important steps to obtain a license. It starts with completing your Michigan builder license classes, and clearing your exams to choose the type of license you should apply for. Here we give you a simple and clear guide on everything you need to get your license. Michigan Builder License: This license is for someone who wants to do any form of construction work in Michigan. In detail, according to Section 24 of Public Law 299 of 1980, anyone involved in the construction of an apartment building to construct a commercial structure must hold a Michigan Builder license. Even for people who repair these structures, construction alteration and improvement also need this license. Requirements for obtaining a building permit: To obtain the license, the builder must meet the following: You must be 18 years of age or older. You must have a valid driver’s license. You must complete a 60-hour pre-licensing course. You must pass the residential and rotation contractor exam. You must pay all application and licensing fees. Above all, passing an exam is a must. Having the right Michigan builder license classes will help with this. Pre-licensure courses: They will take 60 hours to complete and include a variety of topics. Each topic takes at least 6 hours to complete. Topics are: 1) The first 6 hours will be about Business Administration, Estimation, and Cost of the Job. 2) Design and Business Science will take 6 hours to come 3) The next six hours will be risk, contract and liability management. 4) Michigan Residential Code 5) MIOSHA Building Safety Standards cover 6 hours 6) An 18 hour credit will be used for other subjects on the approved course list. There are several Michigan Builders License classes available for online pre-licensing courses. Cleared Contractor Licensing Exam: After completing the pre-licensing course, you are supposed to pass the Contractor Exam. In Michigan, your contractor will be tested by PSI tests. While taking this test, applicants must present a copy of their driver’s license or other personal identification card. Along with the order or at the time of the exam, you have to pay $ 195. The fee may vary depending on the sections on your Michigan building permit. For each license, the department number you should take will change. Obtaining your license: After clearing your exams, your building permit will be issued as an individual residential builder. With this license, you can start your construction as a sole proprietor in your name. However, you cannot use this license for companies or partnerships. Michigan Department of Treasury Registration: After you get your license and start your business, it’s essential to register your business and also have insurance. You can register your business with the Michigan Department of the Treasury online. Obtaining insurance is much more responsible and important as well. Conclusion: getting a Michigan Builder license is a must for working with any contractor. You cannot work on any project with a total value of $ 600 or more without your license. If the contractor finds that he is operating without a license, he will have to appear in court and face misdemeanor charges that could lead to a six-month prison sentence or a fine. Work peacefully with an appropriate license based on law and order. Getting a license is easy if you choose the right Michigan builder license class.